CorrectForm.
Thumb Impression Tool

Your left thumb impression, sized for the form.

Put an inked thumb print on white paper, take a photo, and drop it here. The tool evens out the lighting, turns the paper white, crops and centres the print, then saves a JPG at the exact pixel size, DPI and KB range your exam asks for. IBPS and SBI want 240 × 240 px at 200 DPI, 20 to 50 KB. Your photo stays on your device.

240 × 240 px · 200 DPI · 20–50 KB · JPG · 3 cm × 3 cm
The CRP RRBs XV notice (September 2026) repeats the same numbers.
Drop a photo of your thumb impression
inked thumb on plain white paper
Nothing is uploaded. Runs in your browser.

How to take the impression

  1. Use a stamp pad with black or blue ink. IBPS and SBI accept either colour. Press your thumb on the pad once. If it looks wet and shiny, dab it on scrap paper first, because too much ink fills the gaps between ridges and prints as a solid patch.
  2. Put a sheet of plain white paper on a hard, flat table. Ruled paper, newspaper and coloured paper leave lines and tint that the portal preview will show.
  3. Practise two or three prints on scrap paper. Then press your thumb straight down in the middle of a fresh sheet with steady pressure and lift it straight up. Sliding or twisting smears the ridges.
  4. Let the ink dry for a minute. Photograph it in daylight near a window or under a white ceiling light, with the flash off. Hold the phone flat above the paper so its shadow and your hand's shadow fall outside the print, and tap the print to focus.
  5. Drop the photo into the tool above, pick your exam, and check the preview. The ridges should show as separate lines. If they break up, drag the clean-up slider right; if the print turns into a dark blob, drag it left or retake with less ink.

Using a scanner instead? The IBPS and SBI guidelines say to set it to at least 200 dpi and true colour, then crop to the edge of the impression. You can drop the scan here too.

Why thumb impressions get rejected

  • The print is unclear or smudged. IBPS says an application may be rejected for an unclear or smudged left thumb impression, and the NEET UG 2026 bulletin says unclear finger and thumb impressions will be rejected. The IBPS portal shows a preview after upload, and you can re-upload if it looks smudged.
  • The file is the wrong size or format. The portal refuses the upload with an error message. This tool only saves JPG and shows a tick or a warning for pixels, DPI and KB before you download.
  • It is someone else's thumb. Both IBPS and SBI say the thumb impression must be the applicant's own. NEET treats someone else's impression as unfair means.
  • A different finger with no label. If you use another finger or a toe under the IBPS rules, you have to write on the image which one it is. Write it neatly beside the print before you photograph the sheet, and untick auto-crop so the label stays in.
  • It went into the wrong slot. The photo, signature, thumb and declaration each have their own upload link. Check the preview of each one before you submit, because NEET gives no correction window for these images.

SBI may capture your thumb impression again at later stages for biometric checks, and its advertisement says a mismatch leads to rejection. It also asks candidates not to put mehndi, ink or chemicals on their hands. Use the same thumb you uploaded.

Thumb impression specs by exam

Each row comes from the official document linked in the last column, checked on the date shown. Notices change between cycles, so compare against the current notification for your exam before you upload.

ExamImpressionPixelsDPIFile sizeInkSource
IBPS (PO, Clerk, RRB)Left thumb240 × 240
3 cm × 3 cm
20020–50 KBBlack or blueIBPS: CRP PO/MT-XVI detailed notification (30.06.2026)
Annexure III, Guidelines for Scanning and Upload of Documents (PDF page 40)
Checked 30 Sept 2026
SBI (PO, Clerk/JA)Left thumb240 × 240
3 cm × 3 cm
20020–50 KBBlack or blueState Bank of India: Recruitment of Probationary Officers, Advt. CRPD/PO/2025-26/04 (23.06.2025)
Annexure-II, Left-Hand Thumb Impression (PDF page 15)
Checked 30 Sept 2026
NEET UG (fingers + thumbs)Left and right hand fingers and thumbsNot statedNot stated10–200 KB / 50–300 KBNot specifiedNTA: NEET (UG) 2026 Information Bulletin
Chapter 3, upload specifications (printed pages 16 and 17, PDF pages 21 and 22)
Checked 30 Sept 2026
DSSSB (left and right thumb)Left thumb and right thumb, uploaded separately110 × 140Not statedUp to 40 KBNot specifiedDSSSB: General instructions to applicants for applying (combined examination), OARS
Step 2, item C, Instruction to Upload Left/ Right Thumb Impression (PDF page 3)
Checked 30 Sept 2026

Exact wording in each document

IBPS (PO, Clerk, RRB)
Dimensions: 240 x 240 pixels in 200 DPI (Preferred for required quality) i.e. 3 cm * 3 cm (Width * Height). File Size: 20 KB - 50 KB.The CRP RRBs XV notice (September 2026) repeats the same numbers.
SBI (PO, Clerk/JA)
Dimension: 240 x 240 pixels in 200 DPI (Preferred for required quality) i.e. 3 cm x 3 cm (Width x Height). File Size: 20 kb- 50 kb
NEET UG (fingers + thumbs)
Left and Right Hands Fingers and Thumb impressions in JPG/JPEG format between 10 kb to 200 kbThe bulletin gives 10 to 200 KB on page 16 and 50 to 300 KB on page 17. This preset aims for 50 to 200 KB, which passes both.
DSSSB (left and right thumb)
Width :110px Height :140px Format :JPG Max.Size :40KBDSSSB gives only a maximum (40 KB). The 5 KB floor is ours, so the file is never a near-empty image. Run the tool once for each thumb.

DSSSB asks for the left and right thumb as two separate uploads. NEET-PG 2026 also wants a thumb impression; our notes put it at a 3.5 × 1.5 cm box under 80 KB, but we have not checked that against the NBEMS document itself, so it has no preset yet. Use Custom size with 80 as the maximum KB.

Your privacy

A thumb impression is biometric data. This page processes it with your browser's Canvas API and never sends it anywhere. Nothing is uploaded, stored or logged. Once the thumb file is ready, the signature extractor and the photo resizer cover the rest of the IBPS and SBI uploads.

Frequently asked questions

What is the left thumb impression size for IBPS and SBI?
240 × 240 pixels at 200 DPI, which prints at 3 cm × 3 cm, saved as a JPG between 20 KB and 50 KB. Both the IBPS PO/MT-XVI notification and the SBI PO advertisement give these numbers, and both accept black or blue ink on white paper.
What if I do not have a left thumb?
SBI and IBPS both let you use the right thumb. IBPS goes further: with no thumbs, use a left-hand finger starting from the forefinger, then a right-hand finger, then the left toe, and write on the uploaded image which finger or toe it is.
What does NEET UG ask for?
NEET UG 2026 asks for left and right hand fingers and thumb impressions as a JPG. The bulletin gives 10 to 200 KB on one page and 50 to 300 KB on the next, and no pixel size. The NEET preset keeps the shape of your sheet and aims for 50 to 200 KB, which fits both.
Why does the tool write 200 DPI into the file?
The IBPS and SBI notices state 200 DPI. Phone photos and browser-made JPGs usually carry 72 or 96 DPI, or none at all, so the tool sets 200 DPI in the JPG header. A 240 px file then reports 3 cm × 3 cm, as the notice describes.
My clean thumb image is under 20 KB. How does the tool reach the minimum?
A small black-and-white image compresses very well, so at 240 × 240 it can come out below 20 KB even at top quality. The tool first saves at the highest quality. If that is still short, it adds a blank comment block to the file. The picture stays exactly the same; only the file size changes, and the tool tells you when it has done this.
Is my thumb impression uploaded anywhere?
No. The clean-up, crop and compression all run in your browser. The image never leaves your device and nothing is stored.